Unplug


penguin

Let’s do an experiment, shall we?

1. turn off your phone

2. turn off everything (easiest way-just go for the circuit breaker)

3. sit with the silence for 5-10 minutes

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

How did it feel? was it comfortable? Did you squirm and reach for your phone to check Facebook only to discover it was off too? Did you feel a sort of openness to the room without all that electric current buzzing around you?

What did you hear? Nothing? Birds? yourself?

AHA! now we are getting there!! Do you feel like suddenly your mind is going a mile a minute to compensate for the Silence? Does it sound like this:

silenceWhat I have learned is that to become comfortable with the silence helps me to become comfortable with who I am because I am taking the time to tune out and tune in to myself. I can’t hear myself and my needs with all the noise around me. When I am around people with noisy energy, I feel that they are moving at such a fast pace that they are afraid to stop, afraid to listen to that internal voice, afraid to face and move through issues that prevent them from being the person they were meant to be.Fear keeps us moving. Sitting in silence bridges your two worlds: the one you project outward and the one you hide inside. If the 2 are off balance, then there is work to be done.  It’s ok to be scared of what we need to work on and change. I was. However, I was more scared of not changing and being stuck than the change itself.

Maybe all you need to hear in the silence is “You are loved and you are loved for who you are, not for what you do.”

Now, was that so scarey?

Leave a Reply

